The Best Books of 2016 According to Matt

Last year I set a goal to do two things. Both equally daunting yet I was determined to succeed. My first goal was to not drink a carbonated beverage from January 1, 2016 until December 31, 2016. My second goal was to read one book per month or 12 books over the course of the year. I am proud to say that as of the end of 2016 I have achieved both goals! Achieving your New Year’s resolutions is possible my friends!

It was amazing that when I began finding time to read each day (really just 10-20 minutes) how invigorated my mind felt. I actually began to crave reading and devouring the information in the pages. I became sharper at work and more creative. I felt that my writing improved and my vocabulary expanded.  Books were the best investment I made on myself last year. Below are some books that I highly recommend and what I thought of them. I will write about the no carbonated beverages goal in a different post. So now, on to the library!

  1. The Boys In The Boat by Daniel James Brown

Perhaps I loved this book because it was an Olympic year or it was just a captivating story. It is about nine American boys from the University of Washington that qualified for the 1936 Olympics in Berlin, Germany. This story focused mostly on one of the boy’s life and perspective which was interesting. But what I loved about this book is how applicable it is to work, relationships, and life. The book mentions finding the “swing” or the stroke pattern that would best propel the athletes to victory. We too can find our “swing” when we work well with our colleagues or work on communicating better with our significant others. This book also made me want to join a rowing crew.

  1. How To Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie

In 2015 my wife and I moved to Singapore for a work assignment. Never in my life have I felt more challenged or inadequate for the task I had at hand. I was to set up the company’s first office in Southeast Asia, hire and train all the staff, and help things grow. Now, that we have almost reached our two year mark overseas, looking back I should have read this book in 2015. I started to apply what I learned in the book. Meetings went smoother, work was more enjoyable, and I learned so much about other people. The most amazing thing about the principles in this book is they transcend borders and cultures, languages and traditions. Thank you Dale!

  1. Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson

This is the book that sparked my creativity and imagination. It made me feel like a kid again. I truly believe that whether you read fiction or non-fiction having to put stories and ideas together in your mind that you glean from the pages of a book you will benefit from it. This book helped me pull myself out of my day to day routine and become excited about life again. If you have not read this one and you love pirates, adventures, or both you must read Treasure Island.

The remaining nine books were great. However I only recommend eight for you all to read too. They are as follows:

The Martian by Andy Wier

The Book of Mormon (I actually read this one twice)

7 Habits of Highly Effective People by Steven R. Covey

The Slight Edge by Jeff Olson

Awaken the Giant Within by Tony Robbins

The Harbinger by Jonathan Cahn

The Lincoln Hypothesis by Timothy Ballard

Well that is my list! As for 2017 I am almost done with Rich Dad, Poor Dad by Robert Kiyosaki. I will let you know how that one goes. It has great advice for people starting out in investing and trying to build wealth. Perfect for you and me!

Have any books you loved? Let me know in the comments! I want all the books I can get on my list!

Until next time,

Matt (Check out my reading room below. JK but it would be cool..right?)b0791691687f87a07adc42c19ef66f6f

Leave a Reply

