Homegrown Productivity

I have been on this productivity kick recently and I have been loving it! I get more done during the day, I feel confident, and I have more of what we all want, TIME. Let me share with you some things that have helped me be more productive.

Get Up Early

Benjamin Franklin once said, “Early to bed, early to rise. Makes a man healthy, wealthy, and wise”. My mom or dad would tell me that saying at least two times a day every day while I was growing up. I am glad I finally listened!

Waking up early is one of the biggest factors in how productive I am through out my day. It sets me up to do the other things I need to in order to have a productive day. Basically waking up early gives me time. Time that is mine to do what I need.

Try getting up an hour early and see what you can accomplish.

Exercize 

Just 30-60 minutes of exercize in the mornings helps lift my spirits and give me the energy that I need to get through the day.

I usually set a goal for how long I run, how much weight to lift, or how many push-ups to do. Accomplishing that goal gives me confidence and I know my body is getting healthier too.

Meditate or Ponder About Life

Take time each day to meditate or ponder. Fill your mind with gratitude and positive thoughts. We spend a lot of time comparing and competing, which can be healthy, take some time to just appreciate what you have, to set goals, and to better understand yourself and your life’s purpose.

This will put you into the mind set that you can accomplish what ever you want! It will help you find solutions to problems and keep your mind organized.

Eat Breakfast

If you have never experienced a “hangry” person come talk to me just before lunch on a day when I haven’t eaten breakfast.

It is difficult to be productive when your blood sugar is low and you want cant hear your colleagues over the rumbling in your stomach. Do me a favor and eat breakfast.

Make a Schedule

Architects cannot build a skyscraper with out a blueprint. A regular Joe will have a rough time with out a schedule. Anytime you have something urgent or important come up put it down in your schedule. This will do two things:

  1. Help you realize what is a priority and what is not.
  2. Allot the correct amount of time to your tasks.

When you begin to do those two things you will begin to get more and more done throughout the day .

Those are a few big ticket items that have helped me be the most productive that I can. What are some of your hacks or tips? Leave them in the commentd below!

Follow me on Twitter: @mattsfatblog

2 thoughts on “Homegrown Productivity

Leave a Reply

