4 Reasons Why You Need To Challenge Yourself

article-0-0024f94000000258-244_468x659

When we are “fat” and happy it is usually because we have accomplished something great. We have completed a marathon, went a week with out logging on to Facebook, finished that book, or maybe we smashed our old buffalo wing record at Buffalo Wild Wings. What ever it may be challenges are everywhere. That is partially why I am blogging; it is a challenge for me. Whether or not we accept challenges that is another question altogether.

What makes me sad is when I look back over the past month and I have not challenged myself. Why would I let time pass by without using it to the fullest. The fear of not challenging myself caused me to sat back and think a while about what are the reasons for challenging ourselves.

These four points are some of the reasons why I like to challenge myself. I hope that I will never forget and always look for a challenge. I would hate to get to the end of it all and look back and think, “How much further could I have gone?”.

My top 4 reasons for challenging yourself:

Challenges Build Confidence

When I was growing up I enjoyed the wonderful sport of pole vaulting. I distinctly remember that when I pole vaulted I occasionally would get a little nervous about clearing the next bar. Sometimes I would fail, sometimes I would get close, and sometimes I would make the height. Once I made a bar (especially by a large margin) it would never bother me again. I would never wonder if I could clear that same height or not. I would just go for it. Those individual challenges day after day at practice and at meets helped me learn to push my own limits and have the confidence I needed to succeed.

Challenges Develop Self-Discipline

Often times the challenges that we find our selves in our self-imposed goals or rules we make. New years resolutions, fitness goals, educational goals, and all the like require that we show up. I have recently challenged myself to do 100 push ups a day for an entire month right when I wake up. What I learned is that if I do not have enough discipline to do those push ups first thing in the morning I will never get around to them. I learned if I do not get up when my alarm goes off I end up sleeping in and do not end up doing those push ups. I learned that if I do not go to bed at a decent hour I will not get out of bed on time……get the point? Anytime we try to have self-discipline it effects us in so many ways that we are actually changing based off of our challenges.

Challenges Build New Skill Sets

In 2014 I bought a home from Housing and Urban Development. The previous owner was an alcoholic, lived with several (maybe 5 or 6) dogs, and did not have electricity or water for at least six months before being evicted. That house needed a lot of work and I did not have the money to pay for the work to be done. This left me with the challenge of remodeling my home. I could have just turned around and sold the home but my wife and I were determined to fix that place up. After a year of blood, sweat, and tears I can now frame walls, tile floors, hang drywall, and not hit my thumb with a hammer when hitting nails.

Challenges Increase Productivity

If you take what we have covered up to this point and put it all together you can see how the skills developed by challenges can help you become more productive. If you are confident, have self-discipline, and develop new skills how could you not be more productive at anything?!

In summary if you want to improve many facets of your life go find a challenge!

What have challenges taught you? What did I leave off of my list? Lets hear your thoughts!

 

2 thoughts on “4 Reasons Why You Need To Challenge Yourself

  1. I’m in total agreement. If you are not pushing to do something new or better this month as compared to last month, are you really living? Or are you just surviving?

    The greatest things in life take hard work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

